Tigers moving up to Division III for 2022 season

A pair of Mid-State League Buckeye Division schools are moving up a division for the upcoming 2022 football season.

The Ohio High School Athletic Association released divisional breakdowns and regional assignments on Monday, which resulted in Circleville and two-time defending Region 15 champion Bloom-Carroll moving from Division IV, Region 15 to Division III, Region 11. Enrollment growth in both districts were the reason for the change.

Senior quarterback Scott Moats and the Circleville Tigers will be competing in a new division this fall.

The Tigers and Bulldogs will be joined by Hamilton Township in their new region.

Teays Valley will be switching regions in Division II, moving from Region 8 (consisting of primary southwest Ohio schools) to Region 7 (combination of central and northeast Ohio schools).

In Division IV, Logan Elm and Fairfield Union both remained in Region 15, which now include state powers Bishop Hartley and Steubenville.

Amanda-Clearcreek and Liberty Union both remained in Division V, Region 19.

In the Scioto Valley Conference, Westfall will be leaving the company of the Aces and Lions in Region 19 as they move along with fellow conference member Zane Trace to Region 20, consisting of schools from primarily southwest Ohio.

The top 16 teams in each region at the end of the regular-season will advance to the postseason after the OHSAA expanded the playoffs from eight to 16 schools in 2021. The OHSAA had originally planned on expanding the postseason from eight to 12 schools per region.

The first two rounds of playoff games will be hosted by the higher seed.

Division II, Region 7
Teays Valley
, Canal Winchester, Logan, Big Walnut, Briggs, Dover, Dublin Scioto, Franklin Heights, Green, North Canton Hoover, Cols. Independence, Uniontown Lake, Licking Heights, Marion, Mifflin, Mount Vernon, Northland, Massillon Perry, St. Charles, St. Francis DeSales, Walnut Ridge, Massillon Washington, Watkins Memorial, Cols. West, Westerville South, Whetstone, Wooster, Worthington Kilbourne

Division III, Region 11
Circleville, Bloom-Carroll, Hamilton Township
, Miami Trace, Washington C.H., Chillicothe, Athens, Beechcroft, Bellefontaine, Bexley, Bishop Watterson, Centennial, Granville, Jackson, John Glenn, Jonathan Alder, Linden McKinley, London, Marietta, Sheridan, Columbus South, Tri-Valley, Whitehall, Zanesville

Division IV, Region 15
Logan Elm, Fairfield Union
, Bishop Hartley, Bishop Ready, Buckeye Local, Cambridge, Carrolton, Claymont, Columbus East, Eastmoor Academy, Gallia Academy, Indian Creek, Indian Valley, Johnstown, KIPP Columbus, Lakewood, Licking Valley, Marion-Franklin, Maysville, Meadowbrook, Morgan, New Lexington, Philo, St. Clairsville, Steubenville, Vinton County, Warren

Division IV, Region 16
Waverly, McClain, Clinton-Massie, Cincinnati Hills Christian Academy, Bishop Fenwick, Bethel-Tate, Bethel, Batavia, Cincinnati Archbishop Nicholas, Kettering Alter, Dunbar, Eaton, Graham, Indian Hill, Kenton Ridge, Northridge, Ponitz Career, Reading, Roger Bacon, Shawnee, Shroder, Taft, Taylor, Urbana, Wyoming

Division V, Region 19
Amanda-Clearcreek, Liberty Union
, Alexander, Barnesville, Centerburg, Chesapeake, Columbus Academy, Fairland, Harvest Prep, Heath, Ironton, Meigs, Minford, Northridge, Northwest (McDermott), Piketon, Portsmouth, Portsmouth West, River Valley (Bidwell), South Point, Belmont, Union Local, Utica, Wellston, West Muskingum, Wheelersburg

Division V, Region 20
Westfall, Zane Trace
, Blanchester, Brookville, Carlisle, Clark Montessori, Clermont Northeastern, East Clinton, Finneytown, Greeneview, Greenon, James N Gamble Montessori, Madeira, Madison Senior, Mariemont, Miami East, Milton-Union, North College Hill, Northeastern (Springfield), Northwestern (Springfield), Norwood, Preble Shawnee, Purcell Marian, Summit Country Day, Valley View, Waynesville

Division VI, Region 24
Adena, Huntington, Paint Valley, Southeastern
, Allen East, Anna, Arcanum, Cincinnati Country Day, Covington, Dayton Christian, Deer Park, Dixie, Eastern Pike, Fairbanks, Madison-Plains, Marion Local, National Trail, Parkway, Triad, Tri-Village, Twin Valley South, Lucasville Valley, Versailles, West Liberty-Salem, Williamsburg

More information on the OHSAA football divisional breakdowns and regional maps.

Leave a Reply