Vikings claim MSL-Buckeye girls championship

The Teays Valley girls cross country team placed four runners in the top nine on Saturday to capture the Mid-State League Buckeye Division championship at Fairfield Union.
The Vikings topped the seven-school field with 39 points, followed by Liberty Union (51) and Circleville (85).
Leading runners for the Vikings included Karoline Pees (second, 20:22.3); Megan Bush (fourth, 20:57.6); Brooke Guisinger (sixth, 21:12.3); Lindsay Triplett (ninth, 21:31.0) and Evie Layton (18th, 23:08.1).
Top runners for the Tigers included Ellie Patrick (third, 20:52.1); Lily Winter (eighth, 21:30.5); Gretchen Search (17th, 23:05.6); Audrey Fausnaugh (28th, 24:09.4) and Aly Hatfield (30th, 24:10.7).
Logan Elm was sixth with 141.
Leading runners for the Braves included Tayla Tootle (14th, 22:48.1); Kaleigh Spires (21st, 23:28.9); Clara Wilson (33rd, 25:57.2); Ally Cotton (39th, 27:49.5) and Karlee Thomas (40th, 27:49.5).
On the boys side, Bloom-Carroll clipped Teays Valley by a point (43-44) to win the league championship.
Top runners for the Vikings included Zach Goldsmith (third, 17:31.6); Carson Weiss (sixth, 17:53.4); Joey Williams (eighth, 17:59.5); Jerry O’Dell (13th, 18:25.0) and Kyle Dennis (14th, 18:25.0).
Logan Elm was third with 88 points.
Leading runners for the Braves included Ian Shaeffer (fifth, 17:52.1); Drew Tomlinson (ninth, 18:05.6); Brock Evans (16th, 18:40.2); Jason Springer (27th, 19:41.6) and Trace Smith (31st, 20:08.0).
Circleville was fifth with 102 points.
Top runners for the Tigers included Colton Pinkerton (second, 17:25.0); Zach Buitendorp (17th, 18:41.5); Ryan Roy (21st, 19:01.0); Brandon Patrick (29th, 19:56.7) and Winston Jones (33rd, 20:12.6).
District meets are on Saturday at Southeastern for Southeast District schools and Hilliard Darby in the Central District.
Scioto Valley Conference
Westfall’s Caitlyn Shipley won the individual conference girls championship in 19:31 on Saturday at Unioto.
Shipley’s time topped second-place Hannah Kerr’s (Zane Trace) by 34 seconds.
As a team, the Mustangs third with 67 points. Zane Trace won the seven-school field with 48 points, followed by Huntington with 55.
Kylee Henry (third, 20:43); Carmen Walters (14th, 23:16); Natalie Yates (22nd, 24:14) and Alyssa Wyman (29th, 25:32) followed Shipley as other top runners for the Mustangs.
The Westfall boys finished second out of five schools with 65 points.
Unioto posted a perfect score of 15 points to win the race.
Leading runners for the Mustangs were Tyler Shipley (eighth, 17:13); Henry Barnes (13th, 17:46); Brody Clark (18th, 18:33); Cody Thompson (25th, 19:15) and Gavin Colvin (26th, 19:25).

Copyright 2020 Any unauthorized republication of content on this website is prohibited by law.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: