Franklin Heights set to depart OCC for CBL

As Teays Valley prepares to enter the Ohio Capital Conference for the 2024-25 school year, one member school of the state’s largest conference will be departing the OCC for a new home.

Franklin Heights, the smallest school in the OCC, is set to join the reborn Central Buckeye League in the 2024-25 school year for all sports but football. The Falcons will make transition to the CBL for football in the 2026 season.

Teays Valley is unaffected by the move, as the Vikings are slated to compete in the OCC’s Buckeye Division and Franklin Heights is in the Capital Division.

The OCC schools voted to grant Franklin Heights an early release so it could join the CBL. Franklin Heights is part of the Southwestern City School District. The district’s three other high schools  — Central Crossing, Grove City and Westland  — will remain in the OCC.

The departure of Franklin Heights will leave the OCC with 33 member schools, after Teays Valley and Logan join next school year, competing in the Buckeye, Capital, Cardinal, Central and Ohio divisions.

The CBL previously existed from 1929-1966 and 1976-1991 before it was reformed last year with Bexley, Bishop Ready, Buckeye Valley, Columbus Academy, the Columbus School for Girls, Grandview Heights, Whitehall, and Worthington Christian all voting to leave the Mid-State League.

Bexley, Columbus Academy, Grandview Heights, and Whitehall were all past members of the CBL.

(740) 477-2591

Coming to Circleville this September!

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: